PHY962 Particle Accelerators

Organized by Martin Berz


MSU PHY962B - Particle Accelerators, is a live videoconferenced and web-based course part of VUBeam, MSU's Virtual University Beam Physics courses and degree programs. It consists of live lectures, downloadable audio and video of lectures, lecture notes, and interactive homework problems. The course will run live in the Fall term 1999 on Thursdays at 11:00 am eastern time, beginning on September 2.

Topics: Live videoconference presentations from sites of major accelerator sites outlining the properties and purposes of the respective devices. Included are Tevatron, LHC, RHIC, CEBAF, Hera, NLC, Muon Colliders, and many others.


Important Links

Local Support Course Material Prerequisites
Registration and Credit
Transmission Setup Lecture Notes and Video


Local Support

At various institutions participating in the program, local support is provided by designated senior contact persons. At present, the following institutions have such local representatives:

Institution

Contact Person

Email

Phone

ANLJerry Nolen nolen@anl.gov 630-252-6418
BNLMike Syphersmsyphers@bnl.gov  
CEBAF Joe Bisognano bisognano@cebaf.gov 757-269-7521
CEBAF Johannes van Zeijtsjohannes@cebaf.gov 757-269-5034
DESYHelmut Maismais@mail.desy.de +49-40-8998-2381
DubnaIvan Yudinyudin@cv.jinr.dubna.su 7-095-64922
FNALLeo Michelottimichelot@fnal.gov 630-840-4956
KFA JuelichSig Martin s.martin@kfa-juelich.de +49-2461-61-4740
LBNLSwapan Chattopadhyay chapon@lbl.gov 510-486-7217
MSU Martin Berz berz@pa.msu.edu 517-333-6313
SPbSUSerge Andrianov serge@asn.apmath.spb.su  

Registered course users may contact any of the representatives at the nearest institution.

Back to the top.


Course Material

All course material including lecture notes and videos of the lectures can be found here.

For each of the lectures homework problems are assigned. They are fully interactive over the web and based on the WebCOSY system developed in the Beamtheory and Dynamical Systems Group at MSU.

The grade for the course is determined by the performance with the homework problems.

Back to the top.


Prerequisites

Back to the top.


Registration and Credit

To register for the course, please visit http://vubeam.pa.msu.edu/register.html. Students that are enrolled as degree candidates may also enroll through the regular MSU computer or telephone enrollment system.

Back to the top.